In total, there will be eleven plays performed. There will be four sessions - one on each of the evenings of Fri 7th, Sat 8th and Sun 9th December at 7.30 p.m. and one session on the afternoon of Sat 8th at 2.30 p.m. Each of the evening sessions will have three plays with the afternoon session having two. 


How do Groups qualify to participate?

The Groups performing in the All-Ireland will be determined by their performances and results on the preliminary Festival circuit. Basically, the top six Open plays on the circuit and the top five Confined plays qualify to perform in the All-Ireland finals in Ballyduff. So keep an eye on the League tables on both this web-site and also on the DLI and the ADCI web-sites as the qualifying festivals pass and the results become known. The full set of rules for participating groups can be found on the DLI web-site at this link


How are marks awarded to groups participating on the Festival Circuit?

Rule 32 of rules governing participation states: "The following Marking system shall apply to each Festival: Acting 40, Production 35, Presentation 15, and Dramatic Achievement 10. Ties for places may not be awarded. Marks towards All Ireland: 1st Place 12 points; 2nd Place 5 points; 3rd Place 2 points. Points are only awarded to a third placed group when there are four or more groups competing in that section."


How many preliminary festivals are there?

There are twenty-four festivals in total in sixteen different counties

  • Ballymahon (Longford - Bog Lane Theatre)
  • Bangor & Ards (Newtownards - Web Theatre)
  • Birr Stage Guild (Offaly - Birr Theatre & Arts Centre)
  • Carrigallen (Leitrim - Corn Mill Theatre)
  • Cavan (Town Hall)
  • Cork (CAT Club, Carroll's Quay)
  • City of Derry (Playhouse Theatre, Artillery St)
  • Dundrum (Mill Theatre, Dublin 16)
  • Dunmore (Galway - Dunmore Community School)
  • Goresbridge (Kilkenny - Ionad Dara Theatre)
  • Gorey - South Leinster (Wexford - Gorey Little Theatre)
  • Haulbowline (Cork - Naval Base Theatre)
  • Kilmallock (Limerick - Friar's Gate Theatre)
  • Kiltimagh (Mayo - Town Hall Theatre)
  • Manorhamilton (Leitrim - The Glens Centre)
  • Maudabawn (Cootehill, Cavan - Gallowray House)
  • Mullagh (Cavan - Mullagh Hall)
  • Newtownabbey (Belfast - Courtyard Theatre)
  • Palmerstown (Parish Centre - Dublin 20)
  • Prosperous (Kildare - The Theatre)
  • Skerries (Dublin - The Little Theatre)
  • Tubbercurry - Western (Sligo - St Brigid's Hall)
  • West Clare (Doonbeg)
  • West Cork (Rossmore - St Mary's Theatre)


What groups and plays are on the circuit in 2012?

You can find a list of Groups & Plays On The 2012 Circuit elsewhere on this web site.


Where can I see the actual programme of performances and dates on the circuit?

Rather than repeating it here, you can find it on the DLI web-site or on the ADCI web site.


What is the current league position of groups?

The current league positions of the groups are given in League Tables 2012  (Microsoft Excel format).


Why are groups designated as "Open" or "Confined"?

There are two separate competitions - the "Open" and "Confined" sections. Open groups are generally groups with significant experience and resources at their disposal while confined groups have limited experience and resources and, quite often, are from smaller population areas or may be a young group building up experience and ambition in order to participate in the Open section.


When will we know the actual programme for the Finals?

The final set of qualifying groups and plays will be known after the results of the final preliminary festivals - City of Derry, Prosperous and Tubbercurry - all of which finish on 24th November. However, the final programme of plays for the weekend will not be determined until after the draw which takes place in the Carnegie Community Centre in Ballyduff on Saturday, 1st December at 1.00 p.m. It will be posted on this web-site later in the afternoon. 

Thank You

West Waterford Drama Festival 2020 – Message from Festival Director Clodagh Walsh


If using Sat Nav, be careful when inputting. There are at least three Ballyduffs in County Waterford. In particular, there is a village called Ballyduff about five miles from Waterford City. This is not us! Coordinates 52° 08' 51" N, 8° 03' 06" W will get you pretty near the correct Ballyduff! more


About The Festival

Since 1981, West Waterford Drama Festival is held in Ballyduff during March. Over three decades of dramatic excitement, community endeavour, investment in friendship and sheer good fun. All driven by an ethos of volunteerism, community and good humour. more

Supported by Waterford City &
County Council's Arts Festivals Grants